Members of the Fulda Graduate Centre of Social Sciences

Our Professors

The Doctoral Centre combines academic expertise in the fields of globalisation, European integration and interculturality. The responsible professors are introduced here.


Our Doctoral Students

Doctoral centres naturally thrive off their doctoral students. On this page we introduce the young scientists who are doing research with us.

Doctoral Students

Centre Board

The tasks of the Centre Council include the structural planning and strategic orientation of the PZ, the further development of the doctoral regulations, the design of the range of events and the assurance of quality.

The Centre Council consists of five professors, four doctoral candidates and, if necessary, one employee of the doctoral center. The members are partly appointed by the Presidential Board, partly elected by the members of the respective groups for a period of three years.

The members of the Centre Council are: 

  • Prof. Dr. Carola Bauschke-Urban
  • Prof. Dr. Eva Gerharz
  • Prof. Dr. Stamatia Devetzi
  • Prof. Dr. Matthias Klemm
  • Prof. i.R. Dr. Hans-Wolfgang Platzer
  • Prof. Dr. Angelika Poferl
  • Prof. Dr. Claudia Wiesner
  • Manuel Lebek
  • Andreas Röß
  • Farzaneh Esmaeilpour
  • Aileen Heid
  • Dr. Sebastian Garbe (staff member at FGCSS)


Doctoral Committee

The doctoral committee decides on the acceptance of doctoral candidates, admission to the doctoral procedure, appointing the examination committee, designating the chairpersons, supervisors and reviewers and completes the doctorate.

The doctoral committee consists of three professorial representatives of the PZ and two employees or doctoral students. It must be ensured that at least one member is registered for the doctorate.  In addition, one professorial member is nominated by a university. The professors are elected for three years, the doctoral candidates and employees for two years.

The members of the doctoral committee are:

  • Prof. Dr. Carola Bauschke-Urban

  • Prof. Dr. Eva Gerharz

  • Prof. Dr. Gudrun Hentges

  • Prof. Dr. Kirsten Nazarkiewicz

  • Prof. Dr. Hans-Joachim Reinhard

  • Prof. i.R. Dr. Hans-Wolfgang Platzer

  • Prof. Dr. Claudia Wiesner (Stellvertretung)

  • Prof. Dr. Stamatia Devetzi (Stellvertretung)

  • Prof. Dr. Volker Hinnenkamp (Stellvertretung)

  • Dorina Dedgjoni

  • David Muñiz-Hernández (Stellvertretung)