Department of Social Work

Since the founding of Fulda University of Applied Sciences, study programmes in social work and social education have been a permanent part of its academic portfolio. The Department of Social Work has been in existence since 1990.

At present around 1000 students are enrolled in the Department’s four Bachelor’s programmes and three Master’s programmes.

Our interdisciplinary team of professors and our adjunct lecturers from the practical social work sector ensure that our study programmes set exceptionally high academic and practical standards.

Since 2003 the Department of Social Work has made it possible to choose between campus-based programmes in Social Work and part-time blended-learning programmes. Around half our students now pursue the BA programmes in Inclusive Early Childhood Education (BiB) and in Social Work (BASA online) as well as the part-time dual programme in Social Security, Inclusion, Administration while continuing to work.

Since 2006, the “MAPS online” MA programmes in Community Development and Organisation and Community Psychiatry have enabled students to train for management positions and pursue further academic studies (doctoral degree) on a part-time basis. Since 2009 the MA degree in Psychosocial Counselling and Therapy (MaBeTh) has successfully combined campus-based teaching, independent study and supervision.

All programmes are modularised and accredited in accordance with ECTS standards.

In the Department of Social Work, 27 professors currently teach and carry out research as members of an interdisciplinary team. Together with numerous adjunct lecturers from the social work sector, the Department offers outstanding scientific and practically oriented study formats in all disciplines. The Department’s 14 administrative employees ensure that it fulfils its administrative, research and teaching duties to a high standard.