HAWFulda.International

Universities of Applied Sciences are actively taking part in ongoing internationalisation trends. Students need to be prepared for international working environments. Lecturers are increasingly required to give their teaching an international outlook. Applied research needs networks with universities and practitioners from Germany and other countries.

In order to push forward the internationalisation of Fulda UAS, the Department of Nursing and Health Sciences, represented by Professor Holst and Professor Michelsen, successfully applied for a grant made available by the DAAD programme UAS.International. This provided Fulda University with an additional funding of almost €500,000 to be spent for internationalisation projects between October 2019 and September 2021.

The aim of the project is to explore and initiate suitable university and practice partnerships in Germany and worldwide. To this end, the project organisers are planning a range of activities designed to raise and highlight the international profile of Fulda University of Applied Sciences. The starting point of the project is the Bachelor’s degree programme International Health Sciences, which sees Fulda University offering one of the first undergraduate programmes in Germany which prepares students for professionally dealing with the health challenges present in today’s globalised world.
Beyond this international study programme, the DAAD-funded project at Fulda University pursues the objective to expand cross-border activities and international collaboration of other study programmes, thereby contributing to the internationalisation of the Department of Nursing and Health Sciences

“The support provided to Fulda University, in particular to the Department of Nursing and Health Sciences, through DAAD’s special programme for universities of applied sciences is a recognition of our internationalisation efforts over recent years", says the University’s President Karim Khakzar. “The strong practical and application-based orientation of German universities of applied sciences is considered exemplary abroad, and now serves as a benchmark for universities in many countries.”

Latest info

  • Nine students receive Fulda.International scholarships for their period abroad during the winter term 2020/21
  • "Global health is more than emergency defence and quarantine" - a commentary by Prof. Dr. Dr. Holst
  • Coronavirus: ¿cómo prevenir el pánico? - a feature on "Deutsche Welle" with Prof. Dr. Dr. Holst
  • ¿Está justificada la alarma mundial por el coronavirus? - an interview on "Deutsche Welle" with Prof. Dr. Dr. Holst

Project Flyer

You can find more
information on the
UAS.International programme
on the website of the German Academic
Exchange Service
(Deutscher Akademischer
Austauschdienst, DAAD)

The practice-oriented teaching and the simultaneous close collaboration with partners in the health sector and
international cooperation is considered as a model of innovation in terms of internationalisation; at the same
time, the combination of theory and practice, a characteristic feature of universities of applied sciences, offers
great potential for the University’s international positioning and recognition. The aim is to facilitate academic
achievements to be spread and acknowledged across different countries, expand mobility windows, tailor
schedules and teaching material to the requirements of closer international cooperation, and improve students’
possibilities and willingness to studying abroad.

Activities

  • Exploration and initiation of collaboration with universities abroad
  • Setting up contacts with internship partners in Germany and abroad
  • Delegation trips to (potential) partners
  • Internationalisation@Home through visiting lecturers at Fulda University
  • International Week bringing together all partners in summer 2021
  • Joint development of curricula
  • Sponsoring/funding for students and teaching staff

Project team

Project funding and timeframe

Fulda University of Applied Sciences has successfully applied for funding from the DAAD of approx. €500,000 to initiate and implement steps towards internationalisation in the Department of Nursing and Health Sciences as part of the DAAD-funded project UAS.International.
The Department of Nursing and Health Sciences is testing ways of successfully bringing forward internationalisation initiatives at the University; the results will directly benefit the university or be rolled out as best practices throughout the University on completion of the project.

Duration: October 2019 to September 2021

HAWFulda.International

Internationalisierung durch Austausch

Die Internationalisierung macht vor Hochschulen für Angewandte Wissenschaften nicht halt. Studierende müssen für internationale Arbeitsumgebungen vorbereitet sein. Dozierende müssen ihre Lehre immer stärker international ausrichten. Angewandte Forschung braucht Netzwerke mit Hochschulen und Praxispartnern aus Deutschland und anderen Ländern.

Um diese Ziele zu erreichen, hat der Fachbereich Pflege und Gesundheit, in Person von Prof. Dr. Dr. Holst und Prof. Dr. Michelsen, erfolgreich Fördermittel aus dem die DAAD- Programm HAW.International beantragt. Damit stehen der Hochschule Fulda zwischen Oktober 2019 und September 2021 zusätzlich knapp 500.000,00 Euro für Internationalisierungsprojekte zur Verfügung.

Ziel des Projekts ist die Anbahnung und Vertiefung von geeigneten Hochschul- und Praxispartnerschaften im In- und Ausland. Dafür planen die Projektbetreiber*innen eine Reihe von Aktivitäten, die dazu beitragen sollen, das internationale Profil der Hochschule Fulda zu schärfen und spürbar zu machen.

Im Mittelpunkt des Projekts steht zunächst der Bachelor-Studiengang International Health Sciences, mit dem die Hochschule Fulda einen der ersten primärqualifizierenden Studiengänge in Deutschland anbietet, die gezielt den gesundheitlichen Herausforderungen der globalisierten Welt Rechnung tragen.
Über den international angelegten Studiengang hinaus will das DAAD-geförderte Projekt an der Hochschule Fulda die länderübergreifenden Aktivitäten und Beziehungen auf andere Studiengänge ausweiten und damit zur Internationalisierung des gesamten Fachbereichs Pflege und Gesundheit beitragen.

„Die Förderung der Hochschule Fulda und insbesondere des Fachbereichs Pflege und Gesundheit durch das Sonderprogramm des DAAD für HAWs ist eine Auszeichnung unserer Internationalisierungsbemühungen der letzten Jahre“, freut sich Hochschulpräsident Karim Khakzar. „Der starke Praxis- und Anwendungsbezug deutscher HAWs gilt im Ausland als beispielhaft und das Modell dient inzwischen in vielen Ländern als Vorbild für Hochschulen.“

Aktuelles

  • Instagram-Takeover der HAWFulda.International-Stipendiatinnen in Seoul, Südkorea
  • 9 Studierende erhalten ein Stipendium für ihren Auslandsaufenthalt im Wintersemester 2020/21
  • "Global health is more than emergency defence and quarantine" - a commentary by Professor Holst
  • Coronavirus: ¿cómo prevenir el pánico? - ein Beitrag auf "Deutsche Welle" mit Prof. Dr. Dr. Holst
  • ¿Está justificada la alarma mundial por el coronavirus? - ein Interview auf "Deutsche Welle" mit Prof. Dr. Dr. Holst
  • Weitere Vernetzung des Fachbereichs PG zum Ausbau und Weiterentwicklung der Internationalisierung seiner Studiengänge im Rahmen des Projekts HAW.International

Mehr Informationen zum Programm HAW.International
finden Sie auf den Seiten des Deutschen Akademischen Austauschdienstes (DAAD)

Der Praxisbezug in der Lehre bei gleichzeitiger Zusammenarbeit mit dem Gesundheits- und Entwicklungssektor
gilt im Rahmen der Internationalisierung als Innovationsmodell; gleichzeitig bietet diese für Hochschulen
für Angewandte Wissenschaften charakteristische Kombination großes Potenzial für die internationale
Positionierung. Es gilt die Länder übergreifende Anerkennung von Studienleistungen zu erleichtern,
Mobilitätsfenster auszubauen, zeitliche Abläufe auf die Erfordernisse der Internationalisierung zuzuschneiden
und die Einstellung der Studierenden zu einem Studium im Ausland weiter zu verbessern.

Aktivitäten

  • Anbahnung und Vertiefung von Kooperationen mit Hochschulen im Ausland
  • Anbahnung von Kontakten mit Praxispartnern im In- und Ausland
  • Delegationsreisen zu (potentiellen) Partnern
  • Internationalisation@Home durch Gastlehrende an Hochschule Fulda
  • International Week mit Beteiligung aller Partner im Sommer 2021
  • Curriculumsentwicklung
  • Förderung von Studierenden und Lehrenden

Projektteam

Projektförderung und -laufzeit

Die Hochschule Fulda hat erfolgreich Mittel des DAAD i.H.v. rd. € 500.000,00 zur Anbahnung und Umsetzung von Internationalisierungsmaßnahmen im Fachbereich Pflege und Gesundheit im Rahmen des DAAD-geförderten Projekts HAW.International eingeworben.
Der Fachbereich Pflege und Gesundheit erprobt Wege für eine erfolgreiche Umsetzung von Internationalisierungsmaßnahmen an der Hochschule, die Ergebnisse sollen nach Ablauf des Projekts als Best Practice auf die gesamte Hochschule ausgerollt werden.

Laufzeit: Oktober 2019 bis September 2021